PDA

View Full Version : St Sirius

2speckledblue
12-19-2007, 01:47 PM
This is a historical fiction story set in the 1890s that I wrote for Christmas, using a speckled cattle dog as one of the characters. It's long but I hope entertaining. Please excuse any mistakes with the German dialogue. It's been quite a while since I studied German in high school.

ST SIRIUS

Scratch. Scratch. Scratchscratchscratchstratchscratchscratch. J. Belknap Smith burrowed deeper in bed under the two quilts with his winter coat thrown on top for good measure. Although he had moved his bed closer to the pot belly stove, he failed to stave off the nighttime cold in the drug store back room he used as living quarters. Belknap, Knap to his few friends, had moved west from Haverhill, Massachusetts, for adventure as most young men were prone to do. He quickly learned no thrilling dime novels would ever be written about a druggist. So far, he hadn’t had to defend himself with guns a blazing from any wild outlaws trying to rob him of ointment or Dr. Gude’s elixir.

He flipped off the layers over his head momentarily to call out, “Who’s there?” The scratching continued, more frantic than before. He eyed the distance from the bed to the door. Crossing a glacier seemed more appealing. His body would instantly freeze with only his long johns for protection without the bed covers. Get a grip, Knap. That’s impossible; it’s not that cold in this room. “Who’s there?” he yelled. His breath misted out a foot from his mouth from the force of the increased volume. No answer, but the scratching paused a few seconds before resuming again.